At the beginning of February, we wrote a post about the changes the state of Georgia was about to permit in regards to taxing car purchasers and leasers. The change caused a furor across the entire state as it punished leasers by essentially charging them with double taxation. Leasing a vehicle is one of the most common ways to obtain a vehicle, so this change seemed to be a mistake that needed a revision.

The law took effect on March 1st, applying a 6.5 percent tax on the person making the initial lease, and an additional 6.5 percent tax charge on every monthly payment made thereafter. Purchasers, however, only received a 6.5 percent tax for obtaining the title.

But Georgia officials have corrected the mistake, amending the rule retroactive to March 6. With the change in effect, the law still applies a 6.5 percent tax to those entering into a lease deal -- but it eliminates the tax applied to monthly payments.

There are a couple of things to take note of from this story, and the first is that when local tax laws change, you may be confused as to how the law affects you. It could impact past tax debts that you have, or you may suddenly receive demands from tax agencies.

In that regard, this change is the perfect example. The original, flawed law took place on March 1 -- but the change is applicable as of March 6. That means during that five day stretch, anyone that leased a vehicle will be in line to pay the 6.5 tax on monthly payments.

The amended law allows for those who leased a vehicle during this window to get a refund, but that could be a complicated process. It is best for those dealing with this set of circumstances to consult an experienced tax law attorney to help them get through the tax refund process in a more simplified manner.

Source: Automotive News, "Georgia fixes tax hike on leases," Jim Henry, March 27, 2013