Some states, such as Georgia, have their own policies when it comes to personal income tax. This means that Georgia residents, as well as non-resident individuals who have property or business in the state from which they gain income, must file personal income taxes in Georgia.
If you have an income that is generated in Georgia, Georgia personal income tax laws will apply to that income, regardless of whether you are a resident of the state. If you need to file personal income taxes in Georgia, gain a good understanding of the tax rates that will apply.
What are the personal income tax rates set to in Georgia?
The tax rates that you are subject to depend on how much income you earn. If you have earned $750 or less, you’ll only pay 1% income tax. The next $1,500 that you earn will be taxed at 2%, the next $1,500 at 3%, the next $1,500 at 4%, and the next $1,750 at 5%. Any income gained over the $7,000 mark is taxed at 6%. These rates apply to the income of a single individual.
Can I deduct federal taxes?
A taxpayer cannot deduct their federal taxes from their personal income when paying Georgia state taxes. However, in some situations, they may be able to deduct state and local income taxes on their federal income tax returns. There are also several other exemptions that can be made on state and federal tax returns.
While paying taxes is never an enjoyable task, it’s necessary to ensure that public infrastructure such as roads, fire departments and public schools can be built. Therefore, take pride in paying your taxes. If you need to pay personal income taxes in Georgia but you are confused about the process, it is important that you take action to understand the law in full.